About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Oregon's Payton Pritchard is the recipient of 2019-20 Lute Olson National Player of the Year Award.

March 25, 2020


BOSTON, MA -- Oregon's Payton Pritchard is the recipient of the 2019-20 Lute Olson Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player.

Pritchard helped Oregon to an outright Pac-12 regular season title. The Ducks finished 24-7 overall (13-5 in the conference) and the 6-foot-2 senior was one just three players in the nation to average at least 20 points, four rebounds and five assists per game.

Pritchard joined Gary Payton (Oregon State, 1989-90), Damon Stoudamire (Arizona, 1994-95) and Jason Terry (Arizona, 1998-99) as the only players in conference history to lead the league in both scoring and assists. Heis also led the league with 88 three-pointers, joining Stoudamire (112) as the only players to top all three categories in the same season.

The award is named in honor of Hall of Fame coach Lute Olson, who won 776 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.

Olson is one of just 25 head coaches in NCAA history to win 700 or more games (all divisions) and ranks ninth on the Division I career victories list. He finished with a winning percentage of .731 and is the all-time winningest coach in Arizona history with 587-190 record (.755). He was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year seven times. Olson also guided Arizona to 20 consecutive 20-win seasons, and is one of only three coaches in NCAA history to record 29 or more 20-win seasons.


Udoka Azubuike * 7-0 Sr. Kansas
Saddiq Bey 6-8 So. Villanova
Jared Butler * 6-3 So. Baylor
Vernon Carey Jr. * 6-10 Fr. Duke
Devon Dotson * 6-2 So. Kansas
Anthony Edwards * 6-5 Fr. Georgia
Malachi Flynn * 6-1 Jr. San Diego State
Jordan Ford * 6-1 Sr. Seton Hall
Luka Garza 6-11 Jr. Iowa
AJ Green 6-4 So. Northern Iowa
Kevon Harris 6-6 Sr. Stephen F. Austin
Bo Hodges 6-5 Jr. ETSU
Caleb Homesley 6-6 Sr. Liberty
Markus Howard * 5-11 Sr. Marquette
Carlik Jones 6-1 Jr. Radford
Tre Jones * 6-3 So, Duke
Nathan Knight * 6-10 Sr. William & Mary
Anthony Lamb * 6-6 Sr. Vermont
Sam Merrill * 6-5 Sr. Utah State
Isaiah Miller 6-0 Jr. UNCG
Jordan Nwora * 6-7 Jr. Louisville
Filip Petrusev 6-11 So. Gonzaga
Myles Powell * 6-2 Sr. Seton Hall
Payton Pritchard 6-2 Sr. Oregon
Immanuel Quickley 6-3 So. Kentucky
Jalen Smith 6-10 So. Maryland
Lamar Stevens * 6-8 Sr. Penn State
Killian Tillie * 6-10 Sr. Gonzaga
Obi Toppin * 6-9 So. Dayton
Cassius Winston * 6-1 Sr. Michigan State
Marcus Zegarowski 6-2 So. Creighton

* Named to Lute Olson Preseason Watch List

NOTE: There was a tie in the voting so there are 31 All-Americans.

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade

2019-20 College basketball preview:

Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019